05B4 History


Commander, Naval Forces, Korea, was established on July 1, 1957, with headquarters in Seoul. The command was created by the reorganization of the Naval Forces, Far East Command into the separate commands of Naval Forces, Japan and Naval Forces, Korea. Commander, Naval Forces, Korea, assumed the following additional duties:

• Commander, Naval Component Command, United Nations Command
• Chief, U.S. Naval Advisory Group, Korea, and Navy Advisor to the Republic of Korea
• Commander, Naval Component Command, U.S. Forces Korea
• On-Call Member, United Nations Military Armistice Commission

The principal mission of CNFK was support of the United Nations Command. In this regard, the commander exercised command of U.S. Naval Forces assigned or attached, and operational control over the Republic of Korea Navy.

The mission of the U.S. Naval Advisory Group, Republic of Korea Navy, including the Marine Corps component thereof, was to advise in the organization, administration, training, and readiness of the Korean Naval Forces afloat, the Korean Naval Shore Establishment, and the Korean Marine Corps. The headquarters was maintained in Seoul, but moved to Busan in 2015. A naval detachment currently operates at Chinhae.

Chronological Record of Commanders

Rear Admiral Brad Cooper
September 2016 to Present

Rear Admiral Bill Byrne
August 2015 to September 2016

Rear Admiral Lisa Franchetti
September 2013 to August 2015

Rear Admiral William C. McQuilkin
September 2011 to September 2013

Rear Admiral Pete A. Gumataotao
September 2009 to September 2011

Rear Admiral Thomas S. Rowden
September 2007 to September 2009

Rear Admiral James P. Wisecup
September 2005 to September 2008

Rear Admiral Fred Byus, USN
September 2003 to September 2005

Rear Admiral Daniel S. Mastagni, USNR
July 2003 to September 2003

Rear Admiral Gary R. Jones, USN
September 2001 to August 2003

Rear Admiral William D. Sullivan, USN
October 1999 to September 2001

Rear Admiral Christopher W. Cole, USN
December 1997 to October 1999

Rear Admiral Richard W. Mayo, USN
July 1995 to December 1997

Rear Admiral Edison L. Watkins III, USN
August 1993 to July 1995

Rear Admiral William W. Mathis, USN
January 1991 to August 1993

Rear Admiral Larry G. Vogt, USN
February 1989 to January 1991

Rear Admiral William T. Pendley, USN
October 1986 to February 1989

Rear Admiral Charles F. Horne III, USN
April 1984 to October 1986

Rear Admiral Warren F. Kelley, USN
July 1983 to April 1984

Rear Admiral James G. Storms, USN
July 1981 to July 1983

Rear Admiral Stephen J. Hostettler, USN
July 1979 to July 1981

Rear Admiral Warren C. Hamm, USN
May 1977 to July 1979

Rear Admiral Mark P. Frudden, USN
April 1975 to May 1977

Rear Admiral Henry S. Morgan, Jr., USN
June 1972 to April 1975

Rear Admiral Victor A. Dybdal, USN
September 1970 to June 1972

Rear Admiral George P. Steele, USN
July 1968 to September 1970

Rear Admiral Donal G. Irvine, USN
October 1966 to July 1968

Rear Admiral Woodrow W. McCrory, USN
July 1964 to OCT 1966

Rear Admiral Joseph W. Williams, Jr., USN
March 1964 to July 1964

Rear Admiral John M. Alford, USN
September 1962 to March 1964

Rear Admiral George W. Pressey, USN
August 1960 to September 1962

Rear Admiral John A. Tyree, Jr., USN
September 1959 to August 1960

Captain Thomas W. Hogan, USN
June 1959 to September 1959

Rear Admiral Eugene B. McKinney, USN
June 1958 to June 1959

Rear Admiral Albert E. Jarrell, USN
July 1957 to June 1958

Share This Page

This is an Official US Navy Website
Switch to Full Site
Switch to Mobile Site