Find Your Region or Installation

Shore-Based Galleys Win Ney Award

02/15/17 12:00 AM

By Ed Wright, Navy Installations Command Public Affairs

WASHINGTON -- Naval Base San Diego and Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story, representing Navy Installations Command (NIC) galleys, were announced by the secretary of the Navy (SECNAV) as the winners of the 2017 Captain Edward F. Ney Memorial Food Service Award for outstanding food service, Feb. 14.

The Ney award is awarded annually to the highest-performing food service operations throughout the Navy.

"The Ney Award is the highest honor a galley can receive; it recognizes outstanding customer service, sanitation, and safety observances, fiscal accountability, and food that tastes great," said Karin George, NIC Ashore galley program manager. "Winning the Ney Award means that the efforts of the entire galley staff were recognized by senior leadership. No one person wins the Ney for the operation. It takes the entire galley team to ensure that every day the service is consistently outstanding."

Naval Base San Diego was the winner in the Large General Mess category, while Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story was the Small General Mess winner.

The Ney awardees must earn a five-star rating from a Navy evaluation team to be considered for the award.

"The Ney process begins a year prior with local and region assessments, followed by a NIC inspector's visit and nomination," she said. "Following those assessments, [Naval Supply Systems Command] conducts the final round of inspections and selects the best overall galley operation."

The annual awards encourage excellence in Navy Food Service programs with the objective of improving the quality of life for Navy personnel.

"We have 82 ashore galley operations within NIC, so selection as the winner of the Ney speaks volumes to the outstanding service, pride, and professionalism demonstrated by the winning operation," added George.

The SECNAV and the International Food Service Executives Association established the Capt. Edward F. Ney Memorial Awards Program in 1958, named in honor of Capt. Edward F. Ney, Supply Corps, U.S. Navy, head of the subsistence division of the Bureau of Supplies and Account 1940-1945.